Policy Committee Following Legislation

The USBIA Policy Committee is monitoring the following legislation. Any questions or comments to Policy Committee Chair Gavin Attwood Gavin@USBIA.org


S.516: A bill to amend the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 to permit alternate standards and assessments for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. Prime sponsor is Christopher Murphy of Connecticut. Patty Murray of Washington is a cosponsor. Pending consideration by the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee. Text for bill is not yet available.

S.539: A bill to amend title XVIII of the Social Security Act to repeal the Medicare outpatient rehabilitation therapy caps. Prime sponsor is Benjamin Cardin of Maryland. Cosponsors are Susan Collins of Maine and Mark Steven Kirk of Illinois. Pending consideration by the Senate Committee on Finance. Text for bill is not yet available.

H.R. 829: SAFE PLAY Act. Lois Capps of California is prime sponsor. Cosponsor is Bill Pascrell of New Jersey. Pending consideration by two committees: 1) House Committee on Energy and Commerce; and, 2) House Committee on Education and the Workforce.


H.R. 648: Trauma Systems and Regionalization of Emergency Care Reauthorization Act. Prime sponsor is Michael Burgess of Texas. Cosponsors are: Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee; Gene Green of Texas; Raul Grijalva or Arizona; Sander Levin of Minnesota; and, Bobby Rush of Illinois. A report states that the House Committee on Energy and Commerce passed the bill.


• Congressional Brain Injury Task Force Fair/Brain Injury Awareness Day on Capitol Hill, Wednesday, March 18, 2015
• National Brain Tumor Societies’ Head to the Hill – their annual Washington, D.C.-based advocacy event, May 4-5